Aftermath

Sleepless nights

Churning inside

Tears that wouldn’t fall

Perpetual exhaustion

Exploded in an instant.

The aftermath is here

And the layers are unfolding

With each decision and question.

I did not choose this.

I did not cause this.

I did not want this.

Yet here I am

Picking up the pieces

Of another who

Didn’t give a damn about

Accountability and consequences.

I say to her

Look around at the

Damage.

Anger.

Pain.

I want these images to haunt you,

Keep you up at night,

Remind you of your sins

Forever.

5 thoughts on “Aftermath”

  1. Ohh, so powerful and righteously angry! I love back stories but am afraid to ask about this one??? Having been in a position to pick up the pieces of one who had no care for the consequences this piece touches that old scar on my heart! Loved the lines –
    “Yet here I am
    Picking up the pieces
    Of another who
    Didn’t give a damn about
    Accountability and consequences.”
    I hope the last lines come true for “Her”!!
    Chuck

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

