Soul Searcher

At my mom’s bedside,

I sat listening to her

As she spoke about love,

As she spoke about marriage,

As she spoke about how blessed

We are to have found such

Wonderful men as our husbands.

She kept talking

I kept listening.

She mentioned that I

Had always been a soul searcher,

Even as a child.

I wondered how she knew

How much searching I’ve done.

In that moment

I had her back as she used to be

For her mind only keeps

Certain memories,

Ones that aren’t about me.

So I accept it as a gift

God wanted me to have

To remind me that she is

Still my mom.

19 thoughts on “Soul Searcher”

  1. Wow. This hit me especially hard as I just got back from moving my mom into assisted living last week. She has dementia although not full blown Alzheimer’s yet and hoepufly it won’t ever get there but you never know. Her memory is good about some things and not so good about others. You do have to grab those moments when you can. Thanks for sharing. Coming over from Senior Salon today.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jumped over from the Senior Salon
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Gut wrenching, Robin – uplifting and disheartening at the same time. My prayers are sent for both of you as you navigate one of the most difficult transitions imaginable. I am so sorry that you don’t have to imagine it.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

