Tilted World

Feeling like my world has tilted,

Legs heavy with lead,

A punch felt in my gut

Unsettled me to the point

Of anger at the unfairness

That comes when I do

What’s asked of me,

Fulfilling my obligations.

Yet the inactions of others

Send riptides throughout

As they look for

A way out of this mess.

They come to me to find

A way to make things right,

Pulling back more and more,

When I have nothing left,

Disrupting all I have built

In a single request.

Anger brews within me

For the betrayal hurts

Like razors cutting through me.

I’m done picking up after others

Who have no idea what they’re doing.

Their lack of vision is unconscionable

While my dedication goes unnoticed

Simply because it is expected.

6 thoughts on “Tilted World”

  1. I can relate all too well to those feelings, Robin. I stopped being ‘Ms. Fix-it and make it all better’. Messes are now cleaned up by the mess-makers…or not – but they’re no longer cleaned up by me…the invisible one. Kudos to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great poem Robin. Hang in there, I feel exactly the same way you do but unfortunately it’s at my workplace. Stay strong and know that there are others out there that are going through something similar and feeling the way you do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

