Dad

All my life,

I looked up to

My father, who was

Tall, strong, but quiet.

He always seemed

Larger than life,

With an attitude

Of indifference at times.

His patience was thin,

But his love ran deep

For all of us.

He never quite knew

How to express it

When I was growing up.

Now, at 81, the years

Have taken hold of

His body and mind,

Moving slowly,

Thinking slowly,

Often replying I don’t remember.

His love is a little more

Accessible, especially with

His granddaughters.

In those moments with them

I see the dad I always wanted.

13 thoughts on “Dad”

Leave a Reply

