This Old Chair

This old chair has seen

Us through many chapters

Of our marriage,

In sickness and in health.

You slept many hours here

On your chemo days

For months on end.

I sought refuge here

In my final weeks of pregnancy

When I could no longer get comfortable.

In those early days of parenthood

I rocked our baby girls asleep.

In the intervening years

This old chair has held

The laundry we were too tired

To fold and put away.

Sometimes we talk about selling it

But as I sit in this old chair tonight

I realize that it’s part of our story,

So it shall remain a part of us.

9 thoughts on “This Old Chair”

Leave a Reply

