Between the Lines of Love

You still recognized me today,

Happy to see me

In the confusion of it all.

Your face is a bit worn,

Though I see Grandma in your eyes.

Your words are slow to surface,

Yet every so often

I see flickers of the Mom

I used to know but she

Doesn’t come out much anymore.

My love for you feels like

A test that I often fail,

It tears me up into little pieces.

I never quite know how to

Be with you–

Parent or child?

As I slip between the two

At any given moment.

9 thoughts on “Between the Lines of Love”

Leave a Reply

