Greatest Gift

The ebb and flow
Of life stirs within me
As I face a new mountain to climb.
For I can no longer count on
The monthly ritual I’ve
Known since it all began.
In some ways it’s like
Losing a friend you’ve
Grown accustomed to.
Now after all these years
She is moving away
But I’m not sure when.
Meanwhile, I shed emotions
And pain waiting for that day
When she will no longer be nearby.
It is hard to accept that a piece
Of me will move away, too.
I suppose this is God’s way of
Showing me that for every
Season of life there is
Magic in the joy of
Change waiting to unfold
If I slow down enough to
Listen with my heart
And take care of one of
His greatest gifts.

3 thoughts on “Greatest Gift”

Leave a Reply

