Grand Canyon

My first vision
Of you was unexpected.
Cloaked in white fog
I could not see you
In all your glory.
I could not witness
The nooks and crannies
Of your grandness
Among all canyons.
But knowing you
Were there all along
Seduced me.
Made me long for
Something more.
I could imagine you
In my mind but
Could not see
Further than my hand
At arm’s length.
I waited for daybreak
To see the sun glisten
Upon you.
It took my breath
Away as I could gaze
Into your world
And find one of nature’s
Wonders right in
Front of me.
The site was miraculous,
Almost surreal in
The various layers
Of purple, blue, and brown.
Had I not waited for
the unveiling
I might have missed
The chance to appreciate you
All the more.

Leave a Reply

