The Conversation

The conversation
I didn’t have with my
Mom on Mother’s Day
Would have been
Filled with I love you.
How are the girls?
They’re great.
How are you?
I’m fine, don’t you
Worry about me honey.
How are the girls?
Fine, mom.
What grade are they in?
Sixth.
What school do they go to?
How old are they?
How are you?
The endless loop of
Questions would have
Been better than
The hot slap in the
Face of refusing
to answer a daughter’s call
From across the country.
And so I enter
A new stage of learning
How to navigate the already
Complicated mother-daughter
Relationship that has
Taken a sharp turn.

 

4 thoughts on “The Conversation”

Leave a Reply

