My Table

table-349677_1280The uncertainty of
Adolescence never
Quite leaves us
Though we thought we
Left it years ago.
I am confronted with
This fact in
Unexpected ways.
It catches me off guard
As I find myself wanting
To belong, to be accepted,
To matter.
We still long to be invited in
To sit at the table
To join in the laughter.
The distance of time
Does not ease the
Pain, awkwardness, or desire.
I do not know how
To fight this burden
But I will not give up.
I will find a way
To push through,
Persevere, reach out, and
Welcome others to
My table.

7 thoughts on “My Table”

Leave a Reply

